

Media Release #22

Dublin 2019 - An Irish Worldcon Dublin, Ireland 15-19 August 2019 press@dublin2019.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Thursday, 15 August 2019

Little Prince, Wonder Woman, Bradbury honoured at Retro Hugos ceremony in Dublin

Antoine de St-Exupéry's *The Little Prince*, comic book superheroine Wonder Woman, and Ray Bradbury's short story "R is for "Rocket" were among the works and people honoured at the retrospective Hugo Awards for works created in 1943. The awards were presented at the opening ceremony of Dublin 2019 – An Irish Worldcon, the 77th World Science Fiction Convention.

The Best Novel winner was Fritz Leiber's *Conjure Wife*. Films *Heaven Can Wait* and *Frankenstein Meets the Wolfman* also won Retro Hugos, along with Forrest J Ackerman, the Los Angeles-based editor of monster magazines whose house was a private museum of science fiction. Members of the convention cast a total of 834 votes for the Retro Hugos, all online except for eight paper ballots.

The Hugo Awards are the premier award in the science fiction genre, honouring science fiction literature and media as well as the genre's fans. The Awards were first presented at the 1953 World Science Fiction Convention in Philadelphia (Philcon II). A full history of the Awards can be found on their official website, www.thehugoawards.org. This year's Hugo Awards will be presented on Sunday, 18 August at the Dublin convention.

Worldcon committees have for some time had the option of awarding Retrospective ("Retro") Hugo Awards for past Worldcon years where they had not been presented 25, 50, or 100 years prior to the contemporary convention. Under a recent change, however, Retro Hugos

can also be presented for the World War II years when the convention was on hiatus, by a convention held some multiple of 25 years later.

A full list of winners is below. A celebratory video, showcasing some of the eligible works for the 1943 and 1944 Retro Hugo Awards, can be watched at www.youtube.com/watch?v=E4OWPON s3o.

1944 Retrospective Hugo Awards

Best Novel

Conjure Wife, by Fritz Leiber, Jr. (Unknown Worlds, April 1943)

Best Novella

The Little Prince, by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (Reynal & Hitchcock)

Best Novelette

"Mimsy Were the Borogoves," by Lewis Padgett (C.L. Moore & Henry Kuttner) (Astounding Science-Fiction, February 1943)

Best Short Story

"King of the Gray Spaces" ("R is for Rocket"), by Ray Bradbury (Famous Fantastic Mysteries, December 1943)

Best Graphic Story

"Wonder Woman #5: Battle for Womanhood," written by William Moulton Marsden, art by Harry G. Peter (DC Comics)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Heaven Can Wait, written by Samson Raphaelson, directed by Ernst Lubitsch (20th Century Fox)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Frankenstein Meets the Wolfman, written by Curt Siodmak, directed by Roy William Neill (Universal Pictures)

Best Professional Editor, Short Form

John W. Campbell

Best Professional Artist

Virgil Finlay

Best Fanzine

Le Zombie, editor Wilson "Bob" Tucker

Best Fan Writer

Forrest J Ackerman

ENDS

The World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon) is a five-day event that has been held annually since 1939 (apart from a four-year break during the Second World War). Dublin 2019 is the Worldcon's first visit to the Republic of Ireland and the eleventh visit to Europe as a whole. For more information, see www.dublin2019.com.

"World Science Fiction Society," "WSFS," "World Science Fiction Convention," "Worldcon," "NASFiC," "Hugo Award," the Hugo Award Logo, and the distinctive design of the Hugo Award Trophy Rocket are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.