The Hugo Awards

The Hugo Awards are awards for excellence in the field of science fiction and fantasy.

The Hugos were first awarded in 1953 they have been awarded every year since 1955.

Dublin 2019 will be responsible for the administration of the 2019 Hugo Awards and tallying the votes at each stage.

The default eligibility period is the preceding calendar year, so for Dublin 2019 the award will be for activity and works released for the first time in 2018.

The process is as follows:

First there is a nomination stage at which members of Dublin 2019 and the 2018 Worldcon, Worldcon 76, can nominate works in each of the categories.

Then a shortlist is drawn up for each category and a ballot issued to the members of Dublin 2019 only, to vote on using a preferential voting system.

Votes are counted and the winners in each category announced at the Hugo ceremony during Dublin 2019.

See for more information and details of past winners.

The award categories, and their definitions, are set out in the WSFS Constitution –


1944 Retro Hugos

Retro-Hugos are awarded for any year since 1939 (the first Worldcon), for which no Hugos were awarded. They can be awarded on an anniversary which is a multiple of 25 years since the year in question.

So far Retro Hugos have been awarded for :-
1939 by Loncon 3 (2014)
1941 by MidameriCon II (2016)
1946 by L.A.con III (1996)
1951 by The Millennium Philcon (2001)
1954 by Noreascon 4 (2004)

Dublin 2019 has taken up the option of presenting Retro-Hugos for 1944 (75th anniversary, ie. for activity and works produced in 1943).

Worldcon 76 will also be presenting Retro Hugo awards for 1943 for activity and works produced in 1942.